Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 64

    Bodo

    June 10, 2023 in Norway ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    Cancelled ferries and punctures dispersed our loosely knit group and I was back on the road in a solo breakaway by 7am. Windless and cloudless. Amazing. Had to stop and swap to my short sleeved top- even changed my gloves to fingerless to top up my knuckle tan lines! The first tunnel had an optional detour up the old road which was recommended but a steep 200m. Debatable benefit as I'd only been passed by 2 cars in the first 10k. However it was worth it as I bumped into Nicole and Jessica where they had camped and managed to cadge a coffee on the end of their breakfast. Just as well as there was nothing but mountains and fjord until saltstraumen- the biggest / fastest malestrom in the world. I was prepared to be unimpressed , as I was their close to the tide turning but wow! What chaos and power!! . That left me just 30k of urban sprawl into the metropolis that is Bodo. Good to know I can still do a 120km day in good time. And the early start meant I got here before the bike shop closed and I managed to get my front tyre replaced. But too late for most shops/ activities- even the tourist information- which is now closed til Monday!! Footie tonight and a rest day tomorrow😊Read more