Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 76

    Alta

    June 22, 2023 in Norway ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    After the freezing rain of Trondheim it seems a million miles away as I now have to contend with a heatwave in the arctic! Is that the very definition of global warming?🤔 after checking out the midnight sun- it does exist I had a fantastic fast start - a 400m descent the fjord side and over an inevitable hill to a supermarket refuel. Met Jan once again who had had an eventful 24 hrs- shredded tyre only to find a shop selling the same 1km away( what are the chances?) then whale spotting from his beach side camping spot. Whilst I do t regret binning the camping option it might have been more flexible, cheaper, more sociable and likely to involve encounters with nature. But I get a comfy bed, a shower, an enviably light bike on the hills ....and an empty wallet🤔
    Today dragged. It was always going to be long but the heat was unexpected. Refuelling is difficult here. But I was on lovely fjord side roads with amazing views. I found myself looking forward to the tunnels- there were several biggies today- for their cool shade. Approaching Alta I passed the UNESCO Sami rock carving site and was more than ready for the 21st century cafe. Still had waffles with brown cheese though: old habits die hard
    Read more