Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 77

    Olderfjord

    June 23, 2023 in Norway ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Well that was fun!! A slightly overcast start made it a bit cooler and I was able to get my teeth into the main climb of the day before I started to bake. I had a brilliant tailwind pretty much all day- a little gusty and wobbly across the summits - but otherwise an almost effortless blow across the peninsula- average speed 26kmh is probably the quickest day I've had- and it included 1000m of climbing!! The terrain has changed again. More fir forest, although still plenty of straggly dwarf birch. But across the plateau a bleak nothingness of rolling hills, lakes and the occasional settlement. These were a mixture of the ubiquitous Norwegian cabins but also Sami settlements- some with traditional wigwam like tents beside. Long straight roads stretching to the horizon: so thankful the wind was in my favour. Dropped down into Olderfjord and will have the unique pleasure of riding with the sea to my right tomorrow. Olderfjord is a crossroads- Hamerfest, Northcape and kirkenes ( Russian border) and towards Finland tooRead more