Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Rennes

    August 24, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    So I made it to my first French city. The route I am following doesn't go through the centre (and I was told I wasn't missing much) but it does pass quite a few high-rise buildings. The main photo is Les Horizons which was built in 1970 and has 480 apartments. I think it beats your bog standard block of flats. There are a couple of photos are just views as I walked along the river La Vilaine. The river bank has wide, open paths either side and there were lots of people taking advantage of it; walking, running, cycling, fishing. It had a nice vibe in spite of its urban backdrop.

    Last night I had blister problems. The ball of my right foot was so bad that I was tending to use the outside of my foot instead of the sole. I took advice and finally managed to sort it last night. I'm not going to do many miles today. I want to rest the foot and keep it clean as tomorrow is the start of the path to Nantes. The last photo is my feet getting TLC by one of the lakes to the south west of Rennes.
    Read more