Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    A day of firsts

    August 25, 2023 in France ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Most of today was walking along the beautiful river valley of La Vilaine.

    It was also a day of firsts....

    I saw my first ever live snake in the wild (it was small and dark brown an hid itself away before I could take a photo);

    I saw my first gecko of the trip and as soon as you see one you see lots;

    I saw my first grotto of the walk in a lovely village called Saint Senoux;

    I got done for shoplifting for the first time in my life. I bought some food from the supermarket, ate some of it outside and then went back in to get water. As I paid for the water the assistant spotted I had a bag with food in. I tried to explain I had already paid but she was having none of it and called for assistance. I told the guy that turned up that the lady who first served me would remember me as I had made a hash of using the self service. When he asked me what she looked like I could only remember she was old like me. He disappeared for a few mins and returned with the lady, thank god. She vouched for me but the original assistant insisted I empty my rucksack. It was a bit humiliating getting all my stuff out in the middle of the checkouts but after she was satisfied I hadn't stolen anything I was warned to not come to the shop with a rucksack again. The worst thing about it was I didn't need the water because I found a tap soon afterwards. On the plus said it was amazing how much French I remembered all of a sudden.

    Photos - La Vilaine with Weir and lock, lake with clouds, the wonderful church of Saint Senoux, grotto, church at St Malo de Philly

    St Malo de Philly is dead. For some reason my route passes through there, and it is one hell of a climb, but there is nothing there except a few houses, a church and a bar. The bar was locked with a sign outside saying "This is no longer a bar"!
    Read more