Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Saintes

    September 6, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 32 °C

    So last night my shin/ankle became painful enough for me to be limping quite heavily. I was becoming concerned I was going to have to call it a day. This morning it was a lot better but still sore. I decided to get the train to cover the 26 miles to Saintes. That way I would be in a town with good transport links and I would be able to rest for a couple of days.

    Tonight I'm staying in a refuge for pilgrims. It's a mixed dorm with kitchen and bathroom. It's actually part of the church of St Eutrope so I guess it's Medieval. It has tiny doorways and Romanesque arches and the wall at the head of my bed separates me from the basilica!

    Saintes is lovely and certainly worth visiting for the day if you're passing. It's quite small but full of history and sits on the River Charente.

    Photos - the arch of Germanicus, two photos of the still in use Abbaye des Dames, the market, the tomb of St Eutrope... Pilgrims have been visiting the tomb on their way to Santiago since Medieval times so this was a 'must see'. St Eutrope was sent to convert the Gauls in the third century but was martyred in the process. Last photo is the church of St Eutrope.
    Read more