Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Saintes II

    September 6, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    I saw a guy delivering illicit parcels to the prison prison here. I was walking towards this man who was hurling things at this large building . My first thought was, "Flipping heck mate that was a good throw, I think it went over!" My reading of the situation was that he was seeing how high he could bounce a ball off a big building. But nothing bounced back. And then I thought he was a bit old to be playing games like that. As I neared I saw his edginess and that he wasn't throwing balls at all. I looked on the map and sure enough it was the town prison. It felt unreal that this was happening in the middle of town in broad daylight. He briskly walked off when I got my phone out. If only he knew I was only on Google maps.

    I had to be out of the place I was staying early so I ended up doing some laundry in the first sink I found. Unfortunately it was the park's public toilets, and there was only one sink. This meant that if someone wanted to wash their hands I had to lift my washing out of the sink. It only happened a couple of times but it doesn't half make you feel humble.

    I feel like my leg is fixed so I'm heading for Royan tomorrow. Fingers crossed!

    Photos - The river Charente flowing through Saintes, Saintes cathedral, the church I slept to last night. Sitting on "our bench".
    Read more