Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Hourtin

    September 10, 2023 in France ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    I must look really odd on a campsite. I haven't even got a tent. Last night, it was just me in a sleeping bag liner on a blow up mattress with a take away pizza. Everyone else had tables, gazebos and fairy lights, never mind their tents and camper vans.

    The guy on the pitch next to me turned up late and woke me up with his car headlights. I fell asleep soon after though, while he was still putting his tent up. I woke up again at 1.30 because the temperature had dropped quite a bit. I got my quilt out. Then the wind started picking up so I got into my bivvy bag. Then bang! Something hit my head. Then my body. I realised the wind was blowing the pine cones out of the tree. I pulled the bivvy bag and quilt over my head for protection. It actually got so bad I thought I was target practice for some kids or drunks so I popped my head out to check. The only people out were headlights man and his partner. Their tent resembled Tibetan prayer flags in the strong wind and they were trying to make it look like a tent again. He had his headlights on, of course. It started raining. I got hold of my stuff and took shelter in the toilet block. However , it soon passed and I returned to my pitch to get some sleep. By the time I was back, headlights man was packed and gone. Obviously a newbie to this game.

    Photos - Hourtin plage, the tortuous sand paths I walked today, gaiters -essential for keeping sand out of your shoes, WWII Nazi motorbike paths. The Nazis built these so that they could get around the forest quickly. There are lots of WWII reminders along this coast including memorials of failed Allied operations and beach defences. I never realised this part of the world was so actively involved.
    Read more