Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Two lakes and a canal

    September 11, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    Last night I slept by the side of the path. There were a series of thunderstorms but, after a month of getting it wrong, I finally managed to stay somewhat dry. Anyway, there is no street lighting and this morning I could see the lights of glowworms amongst the pine needles. They are like tiny white, Christmas tree lights on the slow fade mode. Amazing creatures.

    I met a couple who have done FOUR caminos. They had walked to Santiago from Lisbon and Puy in the south of France but I couldn't make out what the other two starting places were. They were lovely but the conversation of the day goes to two ladies from Marseille. We had the usual chat and I was asking about Marseille when one of them (who was already obviously the joker of the two) slaps my shoulder with the back of her hand and exclaims "Marseille" with a fair bit of gusto. Then she starts doing sequences of what looked like shoulder presses, followed by clapping and cheering, followed by half squatting and swinging her arms like a primate! Her friend was laughing with her face in her hands. I was totally bemused. Eventually I pretended to understand what she meant, laughed and said fantastic. Soon after we went our separate ways, me still chuckling. It was only later I learned that the rugby is being played in Marseille! Why didn't she just say so? I'm pleased she didn't because it was hilarious and she totally made my day

    Photos - I could have taken a thousand photos today; it has been a beautiful walk. Hourtin lake at sunrise, the canal linking the two lakes, Lacanau lake.
    Read more