Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Audenge

    September 12, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    Today I ate a Jesuit for breakfast! It's layered pastry with a little bit of custard and an almond crust in the shape of a Jesuit's hat, apparently. I don't know what a Jesuit's hat looks like but I know the cake version is delicious. I wish I'd taken a photo but I bought the last one and I was starving.

    Last night was a humongous thunderstorm again but this time it continued to rain most of the day. I even got dressed in the rain! On the few occasions it stopped raining, my legs became an all you can eat buffet for flies and now they, my legs, sting like crazy. The rain was so heavy at one point that a van driver asked me if I wanted a lift. It was tough turning him down. Maybe next time.

    Photos - the first photo has to be the rain, the second is the canal looking eerie in a rare dry moment, and finally the lighthouse at Le Porge. There are loads of inland lighthouses here. A lot of them look quite industrial but I thought Le Porge looked pretty even in the rain. The strange thing is that it is six miles inland!
    Read more