Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Messanges

    September 16, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    After I uploaded yesterday's post I got lost in a forest with no phone signal, temporarily lost my walking poles, had to shelter from torrential showers, walked until nightfall, put up a shelter in the dark, and slept through a lot of rain. I should have posted later!

    Anyway, I walked parallel to the Atlantic Ocean today and didn't see it once. However, I did see lots of cork trees but it's not quite the same is it? The thing I did see which was super was a wedding cavalcade. The bride and groom and, what seemed like, all the guests had decorated their cars and we're driving along with horns blaring, waving and enjoying being part of the celebration. It was so simple but lovely. I stood at the side of the road laughing with them and applauding (I got a few thumbs up and applauds in return). Such a simple thing but heatwarming to see.

    Photos - The fountain at Mâa. This is called pourut because it stinks like rotten eggs. It is reputed to cure ulcers and trembling children so it can't be all bad. The next photo is the laundry at Mâa. Their clothes must have stunk! The velodysee is a cycle path that runs along the entire Atlantic coast (I think). It's been my constant companion so I had to get a photo. Finally, the heather has been a welcome relief from the green of the forest.
    Read more