Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Labenne

    September 17, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    So I was talking to a guy today who walked from Arles to Santiago a couple of years ago. The conversation was all in English which was lovely. Anyway, we were talking about walking and France and then he asked me about my planned route. He pretty much told me that I would hate two thirds of it because there are too many other pilgrims. This puts me in a quandary because on Thursday I'll be at the fork in the road where I have to make my decision so I have some thinking to do.

    I also met a really funny lady who was telling me about the times she had planned to do the camino but never did. She decided at the end of the conversation that she will try to do part of it next year,on an electric bike. Basically, she liked the idea of going to Santiago but didn't want the effort of getting there under her own steam.

    Very quickly...I used one of those bread vending machines today and I can say they are the bee's knees....I was accused of trying to steal my own phone at 2am this morning but that's a long story and it all ended happily.

    Photos - the weather has been quite wet today so not many today. The first photo is my first view of the Pyrenees (you'll have to zoom in) and the second is yet another storm brewing.
    Read more