Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    Guernica/Gernika

    September 24, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    One of the first three questions you ask when you meet another pilgrim is "Where are you from?" Imagine my surprise when the guy I had breakfast with said "Wigan." I thought he didn't sound like he was from Wigan but thank god he didn't give me a chance to say anything because it was only when he said he'd flown from Stockholm that I realised he had said Sweden! By chance we ended up walking together and it turns out he is a professional storyteller! He basically entertained me (including buying me a beer!) until we had to part in Gernika.

    The second surprise I had today was when I was talking to a guy from Dublin. He had met a couple from Manchester the previous day and they told him about this nutter they'd seen who had walked from Wolverhampton!

    Photos - this mural in the town is the only reference we could find to the Fascist bombing of Gernika, a cool pilgrim statue in Gernika... yet another picture of the countryside here... the village of Bolibar (Simon Bolivar's family, who successfully fought for South American independence and who has Bolivia named after him) were from near here and he has a museum dedicated to him in the town...this donkey was just so cute, and very noisy, I had to take his photo...where I am staying tonight and the view from here.
    Read more