Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    The walk to Bilbao

    September 25, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 18 °C

    A few days ago a lady acted as my ears when I was having hearing problems whilst registering at a hostel. It was so kind of her and, today, I got to repay a little bit of the favour when she was struggling on the walk to Bilbao. This was her last day on the Camino because she can't get more time off work. It was 32 degrees with little shade, hilly, and she had various aches and pains from walking day after day. I offered to carry her stuff but she was determined to see it through. So we just walked together and talked, for about ten hours, until we reached her accommodation. Ten hours is a long time to talk to anyone but she was such an educated and considerate person that the favour from me turned into a privilege for me.

    The Swedish guy I met a couple of days ago, and got on with like a house on fire, also leaves the Camino tomorrow so I'm a little bit down.

    I'll spend a day in Bilbao and regroup for the rest of the journey.

    Photos - First peek of Bilbao, a Swedish bloke and a French Canadian walking the wrong way after the first beers of the day, this area is staunchly Basque separatist and they don't hide it!
    Read more