Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    Vera the dog

    October 3, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    Ana lost her partner suddenly a couple of years ago. They had both loved walking Camino routes and so last year she opened a hostel. I was so lucky to stay there last night as she creates a great atmosphere and brings out the best in people. I laughed so much I was a giggling wreck by the time I went to bed. Anyway, a guy was there who had walked all the way from Switzerland with his dog, Vera! They hadn't walked in a straight line either. He wanted to visit Lourdes so they did that before walking along the Pyrenees until they reached the Atlantic. They have been walking for three months now! Vera was the star attraction, everyone loved her. I also met a lawyer who works to stop people on death row in the USA being executed. I felt so humbled. She is walking here because, unsurprisingly, she needs a complete rest. She has links with Manchester University and, as a result, is a big Huddersfield Town fan!

    I also walked through Poo today. Nobody else got the joke! I really needed an English speaker around.

    Photos - the lovely Vera with her rucksack...Poo station...sound on for the acoustics at Bufones de Arenillas (I thought it sounded like a giant breathing)...not how the English tend to think of Spain but I love it... Ana's hostel.
    Read more