Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 54

    Villaviciosa

    October 4, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 19 °C

    Some folk I talk to are looking for an inner wisdom when they do this walk. I'm just out to enjoy myself BUT I have discovered that the more cider you drink, the less horrible it tastes. I am in Asturias which is the cider, or Sidra, centre of Spain. I have walked through so many orchards that I decided I had to try it. I don't like cider in the UK and, at the beginning, I disliked it just a little less here. However, they have given me a litre to drink with my meal. The waitress gave me a quick lesson on how to pour it (a little at a time from a great height) and left me to it. I'm losing the power of speech but it is just beginning to be palatable now. I just hope I can get back to the hostel later.

    Photos - a street in Villaviciosa. This is a working town and it's not the prettiest but it has a good feel to it....

    At last, a proper sink for laundry...

    One of many beaches...

    My view when I left my place this morning...

    I liked this washroom...

    I walked through a small place called Vega which had lots of murals so here are a couple...

    A hórreo. You see these everywhere. They are granaries. They are draughty for ventilation, raised to keep out rodents, used for storing grain or similar.

    Me walking. Photo taken by an Austrian engineer!
    Read more