Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    Gijón

    October 5, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    I didn't realise this place was a bar, I thought it was just a house in the village we were walking through. The guy I was walking with spotted it.

    There was a large, burgundy coffee machine behind a dark wooden counter on the left, and on the right was a glass display with a solitary blue cheese and a ham inside. On top of the glass display were some faded boxes of biscuits. Between the counter and the coffee machine was a tiny old lady, shaky with a lopsided smile. The room held four small square tables, each with two chairs. We were the only ones there and it felt as though this was as busy as it gets.

    I ordered a coffee and she gave me an espresso, which was perfect. She asked if I wanted milk. I said no so she smiled and gave me a double espresso at no extra charge. She radiated kindness.

    After we had finished our coffees I went to pay and the old lady gave me way too much change. I told her it was wrong and she gave me even more change! I made sure we paid our bill plus a tip. She smiled throughout our exchange.

    I hope nobody takes advantage of her kindness.

    Today I continued to walk through the bucolic Asturias until I reached Gijón, a city with a large beach, marina, and where people have lived for over 7,000 years

    Photos - Gijón... the boat I'm sleeping on tonight in Gijón marina, cider barrels are very big, the morning mist is just beautiful. Me and the Ninja, mad Dom.
    Read more