Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Full on ship experience!

    February 20 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 61 °F

    Oh my, things are moving at a lightning pace now that we're on this marvelous ship! It is so large, and we're still today figuring things out! First off, we received amazing advice from a seasoned traveler before we left. I, of course, bought everything she recommended--and we are so organized!

    Our room is great and it's in a convenient location. We have a group whatsapp setup, and that's been fun too! We had a ship day then a day in Melbourne (yesterday). I feel like we're following the Taylor Swift tour. Melbourne holds the distinct award of the largest tour attendance--and after our private city tour I can see why.

    Melbourne was a large metropolitan city with a lot to see. For my Phoenix family, we got to drive on the track for the upcoming grand prix--which apparently kicks off the season. I will definitely be watching ESPN next month! The homes here were the most expensive thus far. I thought California was pricey, but now that I've seen the 10x10 bathing hut, and I've changed my mind! Would you pay $1.5M for this??? These huts are now heritage sites, and there's no overnight sleeping, electricity or running water. I think we'd invest our money in Capitola!

    This city loves everything exercise and they have many sports teams. I thought I knew about them all, but this is a hole other continent! We went to another amazing shopping site where I bought some great cheese and crackers for our room. When we were boarding, I FINALLY found the champagne bar--yay! It was my first glass since Thanksgiving! I put it on our group chat, and before I knew it, we were a mighty Trilogy group! Speaking of that, we absolutely need to put the brakes on food and day drinking--so I'm drinking the best wine and cheese from here on out! Needless to say we weren't thrilled to have another eight course meal--so we had a sushi dinner with others! More cocktails and shows with friends plowed us under.

    This morning has me more back to reality. Exercise was top of mind and our priority! I took pilates and spin classes while James played pickleball! Before we knew it we had missed the buffet breakfast and we could eat a much healthier lunch--winning!!!

    Tonight is a specialty group Italian dinner...tomorrow I'll give you an update!
    Read more