Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Fun day in Wellington!

    February 28 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌬 63 °F

    We had a super fun day exploring this great city! Again, we were totally unprepared for the stormy weather, but we remedied that and got some cool New Zealand frocks along the way!

    We took a 200+ year old cable car up to the top of the city with Lori and Paul, Colleen and Frank, and Valerie. We walked all the way back down through the lovely botanical gardens. We got a bit lost in a rainstorm and found a fun pub by lunchtime! I had (light and fluffy) fish and chips, and James had a chicken Ceasars salad! What a hoot! Exact opposite of normal! The guys got tired and went back to the ship, and the girls went exploring and shopping. I had been reading all about this cool art district, and when we eventually found Cuba Street, we barely had time to explore its rich history. I wish I could tell you more about it, but we were practically running at this point!

    We ended with a fabulous Tuscan wine pairing dinner that was lovely and fun! And then Sandy, Sharon, and I tried our hand at gambling a bit. Sharon was doing fantastic, but me not so much. I came back with a $5 chip and called it a win!
    Read more