Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Kuranda

    June 4, 2021 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    A day trip to Kuranda
    A must see when in Cairns is Kuranda. Everyone told us we had to go and do both the train and the Skyrail. Loved it and I agree it is a must do. We went up by Skyrail and back down by train. I would do it the other way that way you are not locked into leaving at a specific time.
    The view from the Skyrail was spectular. The rain forest canopy is amazing and the stopping to view Barron Falls was breath taking. I would love to see the falls in flood.
    We spent 5 hours wondering around Kuranda. There are so many stairs. (I hate stairs)
    I think we went into every shop. We picked up a hitch hiker when we stopped for coffee. Relocated him to a new home. (See the first video)
    We did the river cruise looking at the local wildlife only one other couple on the boat they wanted the see the crocodiles, which we did only freshies.
    Took the train back down to Freshwater station. I loved watching the world pass us by. The commentary on the building of the railway was brilliant. Loved the sound of the train on the tracks. I think we have turned into a train enthusiasts.
    Read more