Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Vancouver

    August 9, 2016 in England ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    Got up later today after waking at 1 decided to take sleeping tablets. Nice breakfast in hotel, a buttered bagel and jam. Organised the hop on and off bus which leaves outside the door, very handy. Vancouver is a very open city with lots of outside areas. I did the trip right round first then hopped off to get the free ferry to Grandville Island. I hope to do the island again when I come back. I had the bus to myself for the first trip around and had a ten minute stop for driver just in time ever for the gas work clock to steam the hour. Really special to see and perfect timing. We travelled through Stanley Park past lovely rose garden. The park was hit by a storm a few years back and lost 10,000 trees. You can now get harbour climpses where before the trees were thick..

    The route covered through Stanley Park,along English Bay Beach, Sunset Beach, over the Burr and Bridge. I got off just before this and took the ferry to Grandville Island, then to Yale town, saw Science World building in distance and Bc Place Stadium, Vancouver Library, China a town, Gastown,shopping area, Canada Place and back to hotel. About 2 hours without getting off. I managed to fill in from 8.45 to 3,30pm.
    Read more