Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Modena Day 3

    April 2, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    Today is Sunday, we slept in and Dad made breakfast. He made eggs and bacon for all of us. We chilled until 12:00, because then Dad started ironing clothes. He is very good at that. Just when we were going to get out and go into downtown, It started to rain. So Mom and Dad went to the grocery store to get food for lunch and dinner. Dad cooked burgers with American cheese and fries. It was awesome! After having a very relaxing day at home, we drove into downtown to see the Duomo. The church was so different from the last few we have seen. It was 2 stories and very dark. We didn’t have any euros to light a candle. But they did have Holy Water. My mom did some shopping and we got frozen yogurt and crepes while we waited for her. My parents are going to a fancy dinner tonight so Andrew and I are going to have pasta and grilled chicken. Andrew and I have been watching “Young Sheldon”. It’s a funny show. Back to Como tomorrow.
    A Presto,
    Renee

    ~Gabe and I were extremely fortunate to get a reservation at Osteria Francescana. It’s owned by Massimo Botura, If you have watched Chefs table: season 1, episode 1. That’s the restaurant. It was an amazing experience. The menu was called “A journey from north to south” of Italy of course. The dishes were so unique. The seating began at 8pm. It was 12 courses and lasted 3.5 hours. There is an option to order a la carte if you don’t want to do the full tasting menu. The a la carte menu features his most famous dishes over the years. We ordered the dish called Parmesan 5 ways. It’s featured on the show. There are only 12 tables in the restaurant and at our dinner each table only had 2 people. I got up to use the restroom and when I was coming back to the table, Chef Botura was coming out of the kitchen. Another guest stopped and talked to him first but I waited so I could say Hello. I shook his hand and said Ciao. He then spoke to me in Italian and I said We are so happy to be here in English. He then smiled and said “we are happy you are here. Thank you for coming”. I said “Grazie Mille”. It was an experience that we will remember forever.
    Read more