Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Canal cruise to start the day

    July 7, 2017 in England ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    I literally fell asleep last night as I couldn't keep my eyes open. That rarely happens.
    Woke up this morning at 4am ready to do it all again only to find out it was only 4am.
    Daylight hours here are amazing at the moment. It's not dark till about 10.30pm which means you dont realise how late your day/night is when you are out because it is still light and this morning when I woke for the first time I noticed that it is quite light by 4am.
    Lucked out again for Wimbeldon tickets so headed out on the tube to Little Venice to take a canal cruise (Jasons Cruises) on Regents Canal. We arrived earlier and watched life on the canal. Lots of narrow boats line the canal, with almost 24,000 people living on narrow boats on canals.
    There were paddle boarders out on the still water, sharing space with the swans and their cute babies.
    The canal cruise was lovely - slow and relaxing on a day of perfect weather - 28C.
    We travelled thru tunnels, under bridges, along the back of Regents Park and a section of the London Zoo.
    Our trip was one way to Camden Market so we climbed off the narrow boat an hour later and went exploring thru the market.
    This market was so much fun. All of the street food stalls looked great with such variety and the rest of the market ranged from souvenirs to eclectic to quality products. The architecture in the place is fantastic too. We loved our time here and would have loved to spend hours here.
    We finished off our visit with a columbian dish for lunch followed by ginger margaritas from the mexican restaurant.
    A three km walk to help neutralise the expansion of our waistlines took us from the market to Primrose Hill for views of London, then onto Abbey Road zebra crossing and Abbey Road Studios so Phil could walk back and forwards across the crossing along with many others trying to get the perfect shot like every other tourist there.
    The poor traffic are very frustrated by the antics of the pedestrians here.
    From Abbey Road we took the train back to Oxford St where we experienced the shopping contrasts of Selfridges with its excesses and brands before visiting Primark (Kmart on steroids) just a little further along the street where everything is cheap, plentiful and crowded.
    In between I managed to buy my second pair of shoes in the UK already.
    Next stop on the pavement was a walk down New Bond Street where everything is for the richer than rich folk on our way to Victoria Secret before we made it in the door of The Ritz for a champagne. The experience was short lived before being advised we didn't meet the dress code so would not be able to stay. Phil was wearing shorts!
    Feeling unloved we headed home, stopping at a pub for a drink although not the same as The Ritz, that is for sure, before dining Lebanese tonight.
    The guy sitting closet to Phil during dinner had us in stiches trying not to laugh at his nicely coordinated outfit in a becoming masculine shade of grape, along with his mannerisms and expressions.
    Going home with wilted bodies we chuckled all the way along the street.

    Phil - I'm in London. It hit me today and Wendy cannot get the smile off my face. Having grown up with "on the buses" with Reg Varney, the " Carry On" movies with Sid James and Steptoe and Son, I was able to re-live all those memories. Walking across Abbey Road was magic. So many doing it, they have a live web cam to show you how funny we are all marching across the road. Camden Market was the best market I have ever been to. I actually wanted to buy so many things, but my sensible wife persuaded me not too. If I ever get back, I will spend a full day there, and fill my bags of goodies.
    Wendy has been amazing, walking so far and allowing me to indulge myself. Like jumping on a double decker bus for 4 stops so I can say I have been on one. As I was directing the tour, I gave her a special detour to Victoria Secret. Funny how we got kicked out of the Ritz. Probably a better story than actually getting in to have a drink.
    Read more