Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Paris, City of Sirens

    September 14, 2022 in France ⋅ 🌧 25 °C

    I've spent two days in Paris after the long haul 30 hour Thai flight via Bangkok. These are the second and third days I've ever spent in the city of love after a whirlwind day in 1992. Thirty years later I've been reminded that the cities of the world really aren't my thing and neither is the art scene.

    But Paris has given me ample walking practice and has plenty of architecture which is a delight. I've wandered through the old city, rambled along the Seine and tramped up to Montmartre (hill of the martyrs) to enjoy the views and the stained glass of the Sacre Coeur. For all my inability to appreciate good art, l can't pass up the amazing stained glass of the world's cathedrals, especially when the sun's shining. My timing was good with the nuns choir singing, amplified by the fabulous dynamics of the building.

    The French appreciation for good cuisine is evident everywhere and the displays of tantalising cuisine abound. With three fromageries, two boulangeries, a chocolaterie and much more just in the block next to my hotel, I definitely won't leave Paris hungry. Does anyone know the difference between a patisserie and a boulangerie, I'm sure just a bakery will do?!

    My French is going well. I practiced my "Parle vous Anglais?" with a lovely french mademoiselle for her to respond that she was already speaking English. I'll put that down to too little sleep and will now remember not to just listen to the accent. Hopefully she thought I was a stupid American!!

    Even with my not so great memory, l was fairly certain that eating a croissant in Paris was going to taste infinitely better than in Oz. Being focused on not overindulging as the whole point of the trip is to get fitter and healthier, l thought l would try my excellent french again and order just one croissant. I'm pleased to report that I can say croissant in French and be understood but the "one" failed so I had to endure two fresh buttery croissants in a city garden in Montmartre. I couldn't offend anyone by trying to give one back.

    Heading south to Southern France tomorrow and away from this noisy metropolis. Most notably, there seems to be sirens of all different sorts every ten minutes. Two tiny police cars just wizzed by that seemed best suited to a Mr Bean movie.
    Read more