Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    A Walk in the Park

    September 29, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 16 °C

    Today was quite literally a walk in a park. After a kilometre or so in Logrono suburbia the Camino took me to a city park followed by the Grande Parc Logrono which spread past the city outskirts into the nearby fields. Another five kilometres and I was at my next nights stay in Navarette.

    The new sandals were a dream and I set Logrono talking with my stylish sock and sandal combination. My wide feet, already splayed more that normal from those barefoot years in Indonesia's steamy climes in my childhood, may be permanently even wider if I walk 600km in sandals but at least my toes aren't numb and ready to fall off at the end of the day. No hobbling was involved. Mind you I felt pretty good the first day after a rest day last time too so let's see how the week pans out. It was flat and mainly paved too so no dust and loose gravel in the sandals on day one, take two.

    I saw squirrels. 😍😍😍 And ducks. The water is low and Spain and it's vineyards are looking a bit worse for wear after their intense summer heat wave. It been trying to rain for several days now but never more than a few drops falls, not enough to wet the pavement. It's colder than I expected but it's a bit early in the season and it's supposed to warm up for a week or two in a couple of days.

    My accommodation for the night is on the main street in another old town on a hill, next to the church whose bell will chime late into the night. I love standing on my little balcony overlooking the Plaza and the street and watching life in Spain. My little balcony on the first floor is about level with the bar across the street that has tables out on the paving in front of the church. Could be a noisy spot tonight.

    This town Navarette, has a bit more life to it. So many of the town's I've walked through so far have seemed almost closed. There has been hardly anyone around except pilgrims and a few shops and bars for pilgrims. Most buildings in these old hilltop towns are shuttered and I wonder if anyone lives there or if they are holiday homes. Maybe the occupants head off early to work in the cities. Navarette is a bit more alive but it feels more industrial and maybe there are some jobs around that keep it going.
    Read more