Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Logrono, La Rioja

    September 28, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Whose stupid idea was it to walk 700+ km across Northern Spain by myself? The "I'm getting off the island" excitement has definitely worn off and the "It's a bloody long way to Santiago" reality has set in along with the "it would be much better if I'd brought someone with me to share the fun!"

    Of course, this was all to be expected and in reality the first few weeks have flown by. Most of my Pilgrim friends are days of weeks ahead of me by now but there will be new people to meet again this week.

    I've had my rest day in Logrono, capital of the La Rioja wine region. I did all the practical things like getting some new hiking sandals to try out on the trail, and some anti-inflammatory drugs in the hope that I can walk more than two days without needing a day off. And the laundry, I did that too.

    I also slept a lot. The body is adjusting both to walking and the opportunity for a siesta. The shops in Spain never seem to be open. Most are open from 10-2 and some from 5-7 with the odd big store open 8 hours a day.

    Cafes, normally called bars, are open longer but often the kitchen is shut until 8pm but there is a selection of tortillas (omelettes) and bocadillas (snacks) displayed on the counter. Alcohol and coffee seem to be served all day long.

    I really do prefer the villages and countryside than the cities, and will think twice about whether to have a rest day in a city again. The Camino seems always to go through the historical heart and pass by all the must see sights so nothing is missed if you follow the Way.

    Of course, the main attraction of La Rioja is the wine and I'll be passing by many vineyards over the coming days.
    Read more