Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 57

    Adios Espana

    November 7, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 18 °C

    After a lovely relaxing week doing very little in Muxia, I hopped on a bus back to Santiago, then on to Porto in Portugal. I've a week here before flying to Rome to be with Maddie.

    In Muxia I did find time for some Atlantic sunsets and wandered the local seaside.

    I've landed myself a nice little apartment to base myself in this week. I haven't had such luxury the whole trip.

    The drive to Porto was partly along more of the magnificent Atlantic coast and through the cities of Vigo and Braga. The landscape was beautiful and green with steep coastal hills and deep blue harbours.

    The minute we crossed the Portuguese border at Rio Minho the architecture changed. Houses seem all to be painted white and the churches also. The church steeples and designs differ greatly.

    Arriving in Porto I felt like I stepped out of the alternate reality I been in for two months in Spain and back into the real world, or maybe just back into a modern city. My first stop was an updated Sim at Vodaphone which I found in a shopping centre near the bus stop. While I visited many cities in Spain I always stayed in the historic heart and barely left them. I haven't been in a shopping centre at all. I could have been in Melbourne again. Apparently the most populous city I went to in Spain was Pamplona at approximately 200,000 people so no wonder Porto at 1.3 milliion seems a bit like stepping out of a time machine. Wait till Rome next week.
    Read more