Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 100

    Volcano Hike and all the lava

    September 24, 2017 in Guatemala ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    I was picked up at 7:30am from my hotel and transferred to a house where we prepared our things for the hike up Volcano Acatenango. I borrowed a hiking pack, gloves, scarf, beanie and big jacket. We headed up the volcano which was a continuous steep climb up the gravel of the volcano. It was raining most of the way but my big green poncho was keeping me and my bag quite dry. We had lunch while it poured rain. We could hear the volcano erupting as we walked along. From the campsite we could watch the volcano erupting every few minutes with lava rolling down the sides. It was truly amazingly. We had a big dinner of mashed potatoes, pasta and beans with tortillas. After there was hot chocolates and we could roast marshmallows on the fire. We stayed up watching the many eruptions and tried to capture some photos. The volcano was so noisy that it was hard to sleep at night with the loud bangs waking you up.Read more