Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Mama Ganga Aarti

    March 30 in India ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    The Ganga Aarti in Rishikesh is a beautiful Hindu and sacred ritual that takes place daily on the banks of the River Ganges. Usually held during sunset, this ceremony is a devotional offering to the river, worshipping it as a divine entity.

    The energy is powerful, and the songs and chants bring one I the present moment.

    The day was strange. I'm just taking our time walking around taking it all in.
    More about Sandra another time, but we are in the rooms next to each other here at Namoh stay. After being on the flight together from Vietnam to India, then bumping into each other here in rishikesh at the same accomodarion, it was an instant connection. Sandra is French but grew up in London. Travelling for 6 months around Asia, she was drawn to coming back to India on her way home.
    We decided spontaneously to go the Ganga Aarti together with bugs. For some strange reason, Bugs afternoon nap went until 5 pm after sleeping 2 hours in the afternoon, which meant I could get away with a 9pm bedtime without mum guilt setting in. Seemed like a chance like no other to go.
    We met Sandra and took to the streets. It was a 40-minute walk to cross the Ganges over to the Parmarth Niketan Ashram on the Triveni Ghat.
    The streets were crowed with people all making their way over to the daily ritual. I sheltered buggy ears from the constant honking going on in amongst all the congestion. The streets were alive. I wouldn't be out and about past dark if it wasn't for Sandra, so I feel grateful at the opportunity to be able to go and experience such a holy ceremony and ritual on the Ganges.

    We first had to make our way over a suspension bridge, which was taking the weight of hundreds of people. Didn't doubt the construction for a second and arrived safely to the other side. We had to wind our way through alleys and markets, swirving around cows and dodging poo. My nostrils were infatuated with the incense burnt in every shop and stall. The street food looked amazing, I ate with my eyes as I won't try it just in case.

    We arrive, the Ghat packed and filled with people. Sandra and I wondered where we could get a view. There was no way to squeeze anywhere, and people had perched themselves in every crook and cranny doing what they could to watch the ritual.
    I looked around, almost desperate to see this, knowing it could be a once in a life time opportunity. I saw a rooftop ledge, over looking the whole ritual. I told Sandra and urged her to hurry up and jump up. She looked around and hesitated. Go go go go, I said. Hurry. She jumped up, and I quickly unstrapped buggy and passed him up to her. Within moments, I chucked my backpack on the roof and proceeded to climb up. She gave me buggy, and I gave him the biggest hug. Sandra and I looked at each other. In disbelief that we had the best seats in the house overlooking the whole ritual.
    Others took our lead, and before long, the roof top became crowded.

    The Maha Aarti started with the chanting of bhajans, beating drums, bells, and diyas offering to the Ganga. It was powerful and alive. The devotion of the people. Lanterns and torches were lit in tribute to the holy mother ganga. The energy unmatched.

    Buggy made friends with everyone around us, and everyone was doing what they could to have an exchange with buggy. Buggy managed on that rooftop for over an hour before he indicated that it was time to leave. Sandra and I were ok with that. I found it beneficial to leave just before the crowds and people were starting to leave anyway.
    We weaved our way back through the alley ways and streets, back over the bridge, only to get to the other side where Sandra, buggy and I took a rickshaw (tuktuk) to where we were going to have dinner.

    Sandra recommended a great place. There are so many options . Sandra and I shared some meals whilst I ordered buggy a Dahl and rice with no spice. He ate it, and I was relieved. First time eating something of substance since his tempteture on the flight over. Relief overcame me.

    Whilst Sandra and I were talking, buggy somehow managed to get a taste of some chilli from our salad dressing. Shesh. My chilli baby screamed the restaurant down in agony over the uncomfortable sensations the chilli provoked.
    15 minutes, then the chilli subsided, and it was time to go. Take away, please, sir.
    We paid, gave thanks, and left.
    We all walked back to our accommodation. It was a great evening, and it was a hoot to enjoy and connect with Sandra. We got on so well, and both leave the same day from here funny enough. We will enjoy more moments with her whilst in rishakesh.

    It was time for a shower and bed.
    What a day. Good night, world.
    Namaste.
    Read more