Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Too Early for This

    May 9, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    (1) What are you hoping to learn about yourself as a leader on this trip?
    While on this trip, I hope to learn what contexts I function best under, with what I am most comfortable. When I have figured this out, I would like to learn how to grow in the areas I am uncomfortable in and thus strengthen myself as a leader entirely.
    What I did end up learning about myself is that I work best in situations that I do not have to rely on others for; I have a tendency to want to do some things by myself, and that is not always a good quality for a leader to have. I have learned that I need to trust the work of others in order to accomplish a goal, like our 1400 box goal in the food packaging.
    Furthermore, I learned that I will one day need to enter a career where I can leave each day feeling as if I have accomplished something. If I were to have the detached career of a food-boxing assembly worker, I believe I would often leave feeling emotionally worn. It would be difficult for me to not dwell on the fact that, no matter how many people I could feed one week, I would never feed everyone. Because of this, I know that I need to be within a career that I can leave feeling fulfilled; although what the people at Share Food do is life-changing, it is meant for a certain kind of leader, and I do not think I am that kind of leader.

    We are heading to Atlanta! I'm looking forward to the work our team will be completing and the lessons we will learn along the way. Let's grow in our leadership skills!
    Read more