Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Smokey Mountains - Gatlinsburg

    June 14, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    First stop on today's agenda was a gas station for the coach. We got 20 mins for the stop so while I perused the snacks, dad had a go on the slot machines and won $75! Using this he treated himself to a coffee and a blueberry cream Danish while I had a vitamin water with an apple and a cereal bar
    .
    After a couple of hours ride we arrived in Asheville, a quirky town with lots of independant shops. We only had one hour so found a cafe inside an art gallery. I went for a toasted PB&J sandwich (only in America) it was so damn good, and dad had a chicken salad sandwich. Today was their anniversary and each meal came with a free scoop of ice cream, dad went for strawberry and I went for chocolate. It was nice to get our first diner style experience in America!
    .
    The afternoon was made up of travelling through the smokey Mountains, getting plenty of photo ops of the lovely views until we arrived in Gatlinburg at 6pm. Even from the drive to the hotel I could tell it was going to be my favourite town yet
    .
    As we waited for the suitcases we sat out on the balcony sharing a beer and taking in the sights. We agreed immediately that we had to do the skylift, unfortunately on the way up I dropped my bag off and there was a whole palava and ten minutes of stress and worry until i was reunited with my bag. We made our way back up, did the bridge across and looped round. As you can imagine all that excitement had worked up an appetite.
    .
    We headed down the main streets taking in the sights of the Old Town feel buildings along with the neon lights that america is famous far. It was then we spotted our old famous joint Johnny Rockets. While the decor wasn't as great and there was no singing or dancing from the staff, the food was just as good. I knew what I wanted before I even stepped in the building, I had been dreaming of those chilli cheese fries for years now and they did not disappoint. Dad went for a burger and even refilled his fries. One thing, no matter where we've been for fries theyve always been way better than any in England.
    .
    Dads back was hurting so I left him doing a leisurely stroll while I marched up and down the highstreet darting into shops. There were bright new candy shops next to old style moonshine whisky taverns, it was an explosion to the senses and so exciting and interesting to see. After a couple of hours of shopping, wandering and listening to live country music it was time to head back to the hotel for a decaf coffee and some chocolate before bed. Another day we'll spent.
    Read more