Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Neon Side Gallery

    August 12, 2022 in Poland ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Exhausted and slightly dehydrated, I finally arrived in Wroclaw having learned the lesson: Book your trains well in advance and bring twice the amount of water you think you need.

    After checking into the hostel and resting for a bit, I headed out with my new bunkmate Carla, from Argentina, to explore the city.

    The first impression I got, is that Wroclaw is very colorful and pretty, wealthy, a business hub, and has an attractive network of waterways as the Oder river forms several islands as it passes through the city. But I also noticed run-down neighborhoods, quite a bit of litter, and a handful of drunk (and unfortunately quite smelly) vagrants.

    When Carla decided to go on a sightseeing boat ride, I continued exploring on my own. Nearby the hostel, I stumbled upon the Neon Side Gallery, tucked away in a back alley. A lively spot with a collection of old neon signs and street art.
    Read more