Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Local Cuisine V and a Full Train

    August 12, 2022 in Poland ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    The last day in Krakow had arrived and it was time to start heading back west via Wroclaw and Dresden.

    I met up with Aga and Dominic to check out the crafts market next to the Cloth Hall before heading to the train station. Here, I finally got to try Oscypek, the Polish smoked cheese. We got it right off the grill, as it is intended to be eaten (not cold, as I had assumed) and it was a bit salty, but I liked the strong smoky flavor.

    I had only booked the train the night before, so it wasn't possible to reserve a seat, no matter whether I chose first class or second. Maybe the only difference between them is the price after all? 🤔

    Anyway, the train was very full and I braced myself for having to stand, squeezed between people and luggage, for three hours straight.

    Luckily, by the time we reached Katowice, quite a few people got off. I still didn't get a spot in the compartment or even on one of the fold-down seats, but at least I could sit on the floor. I wrapped my travel pillow in my cloth tote to improvise a cushion, so it was a bit more comfortable at least.

    After a while, I started to notice that some of the seated passengers would offer their seats to the less fortunate ones while they stretched their legs. This way, pretty much everyone in my wagon, including myself, got to sit normally for at least half an hour of the trip.
    Read more