Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Success at last

    April 25, 2018 in Austria ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Finally found somewhere that sold skewers for a barbecue, so that's today's dinner sorted. This morning was already a success, got a wee oven out of Aldi (Hofer here) a while ago and today I baked bread in it, ok it is the part cooked stuff you get in the supermarket, but hey ho hot baked bread from my wee crappy van, I mean camper van, not bad eh! Going back into town to see the Prater, one of the the largest Ferris wheels in Europe. Oh by the way it was 27 degrees today..sorry. So here it is the Wiener Reisenrad Ferris Wheel to give it its proper name as it sits in the amusement park simply called Prster. The carriages are exactly that, small train carriages with wooden benches, there are also dining cars (as you would expect on a Ferris wheel!) and as the wheel revolves waiters bring on the various courses each time it reaches the bottom and clear away the crockery etc (full dining table set up). I didn't get dinner on my ride, the Olympic Munchen (Munich) which is just as well as I would probably have met it on the third Olympic ring!Read more