Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    The day Floo died 4.3.2024

    March 4 in Chile ⋅ 🌬 25 °C

    Today it was a travel day. I left Santiago to catch the plane to Calama, 1600km north. And then take a bus for San Pedro de Atacama. I was tired and slept not well in the night. My Santiago taxi driver was shocked that, despite of that I have a relationship, I travel alone. He asked me if I behave well when abroad and if Alexandro behaves as well! "What do you do if a man tries to kiss you?". Interesting conversation. He will pick me up again on Saturday. I am sure it will be fun again. The flight was nice with the shortest descent I have ever had, because we landed at 2.200m altitude. It was extremely bumpy because of the desert wind but it ended fast! I hadn't researched which bus to take etc so I ended up buying a shared taxi for which o had to wait another 40minutes. At then end we departed 1.5hours after my arrival. I guess they waited for more clients. I caught up a conversation with the first passenger who immediately gave me his card if I needed anything he owns a small hotel and if I had any problem I should call him. Also Jorge was his name. Anyway,I sat next to the driver and we left. He put some interesting music and he had an interesting chocolate colour which did not remind me at all of chileno people. After sometime I told him this is not Chilean music. He said Colombian. He is Colombian. We chatted a bit in Spanish with my Google translator, and my whatever knowledge and it was fun. He showed me guanacos running around the desert, moon valley where I am going tonight and death valley. Interesting thing is from Calama to San Pedro you have almost 50km of straight driving line and it is full of crosses because of sleepy drivers and accidents.Read more