Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 151

    Vancouver: Helping Ursula home

    August 28, 2022 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    A detour to Vancouver is indicated. My aunt needs some aid and my father and me immediately head to Canada on the next flight to visit her. Fortunately she is able to leave the hospital soon and we explore british columbia while packing and preparing her things. Of which, her being a lifelong collector of art and antiques throughout the world, there is much.

    I have also came to notice the resemblance this region has with Switzerland. High mountain ranges, fir and spruce forests and fancy ski resorts (Whistler). High prices levels. Some difference are obvious too: A very high Asian population, bear warnings (I tripped into one at night at the campsite) and the Ocean.

    I also came in contact with hutterites in Squamish whom were wearing traditional dresses and headgown (much like Austrian traditional dresses). This group was on a ten days trip, a rare outing. I couldnt believe they shared their Instagram with me - they are from a very progressive tribe they said.
    Read more