Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    The green Auckland

    February 1, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    After a "not having to tell much about"-day yesterday - I basically was strolling around Auckland downtown until the early afternoon, did not like it very much because of loads of traffic and construction sites and spent the whole afternoon in the hostel then (tired, jetlag?) - today was a really nice day again. I have been walking more than 25 km and hit many green spots of the town. I really enjoyed Albert Park, was impressed by the parts of the university campus I was walking through, went through the "wild" parts of "Auckland Domain" (somehow the "English Garden" of Auckland), was pleased by the "Wintergarden" greenhouses and particularly by the fernery ("Farngarten") and walked along Hobson Bay on a partly adventurous walkway ending in an deadend. In between I spent some two hours in the "Auckland Museum" with e.g. historical Maori stuff, New Zealand's flora and fauna or New Zealand's war history on display.

    Tomorrow in the early morning I am going to head off Auckland some two hundred kilometer northwards to Prahia. I certainly have not made the optimum made of my stay in Auckland but, anyway, I will at least come back once before my flight back to Europe.
    Read more