Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    About sheep, dolphins and a hole

    February 2, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    This morning I had to get up very early (after a night of having slept very badly) to catch the bus up north (into the heat!) at 7:30 from Auckland downtown. The four hour drive was mainly through an area that could look alike in Central Europe. Where are all the New Zealand sheep? I saw many cows but only a few sheep. Probably, I even saw more horses than sheep. Today's destination was Paihia in the Bay of Islands at the Pacific shore. The area is beautiful, but also remembers me a bit at the area around Split in Croatia. I did not have a lot of time to relax because for the afternoon I had booked a boat trip in the bay going to the hole in the rock. The hole is nice but not unique. On our way back we saw dolphins. However, unfortunately, they were gone again very quickly and not so easy to see from the big vessel. After the trip I was really tired and only got up once again to have a nice dinner. I hope to be able to sleep better this night, what, however, is unlikely because it is tremendously hot in the hostel.Read more