Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Hastings

    February 12, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    Today, I have not so much to report. I kicked off the day with a nice 10 km-run at the lakeshore of Lake Taupo - the first run since the strep-throat had knocked me off (from sports) for basically the whole January. At 1:30 I took the bus from Taupo to Hastings in the Hawke's Bay close to the Pacific coast. We drove through a landscape dominated by hills and forests. For the first time I saw way more sheep than cows😄 From a longer distance, one meadow looked like there were white rocks on it, but, when we came closer, I could see that it were sheep😂In Hastings, I walked some kilometers through the city center and some neighborhoods up to some rural area with apple trees and other agriculture. Hastings seems to be a rather unspectacular town with some pretty corners though. Maybe I should have gone to Napier instead, but seeing a rather "normal" New Zealand town is not so bad either. Tomorrow, I'll be going on Winery- and Wine Tasting-tour anyway🙃Read more