Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Rick Steves Trastevere

    April 25, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 64 °F

    After breakfast, which consisted of coffee from a moka, a coronetto, some apricot tart, and some yogurt, I went back to the room/balcony to plan. Originally, I was planning to go to the Caracalla baths, but they are closed today. I checked my Rick Steves tours. There was a Trastevere one loaded and ready to go.

    I had to walk 20 minutes to the start. I found a place for a covid test, too. The tour started on the bridge over Isola Tiberina. The first big site is Chiesa Santa Cecilia. It was beautiful and had a bonus of an underground section of the original house. That was worth the 3€! Next was basically wandering though the neighborhood until we arrived at Basilica Santa Maria in Trastevere. This is the same place with the busy piazza yesterday. This church had very beautiful mosaics, but I'm sort of churched out.

    I was hungry and started to look for lunch. I pointed myself towards a place called Suppì, but it wasn't there. I ended up at a ace that was nearby. I just finished my 1st Pasta of Rome--Amatriciana.

    Now back home to change and recharge for the food tour!
    Read more