Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Testaccio market

    April 28, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    I got out fairly early and headed towards the Testaccio market. I walked through and entirely new part of the neighborhood. Much more local.

    It was a relatively short walk to the market. I found the sandwich place right away. It didn't appear open, so I walked around. So much good food! I walked by the sandwich place and saw a tour group and figured it was open. Got my Italian Veal and a bottle of wine. The tour was in English, so I eavesdrop a bit. They were getting a group picture of and I offered to take it. They were from Hinsdale! We chatted for a while and I asked the guide who she worked for. It was Katie Parla! I read her blog prior to coming here.

    From there I meandered around and stopped at a wine and food shop for gifts. I may keep them all for myself :) 😀. I bought limoncello for Kristen and truffle balsamic vinegar. Also some "polvere di leccino" that I have no idea what it is! I looked for fried olives, but couldn't find any, so I left.

    I went back to my room to drop off all the food. Saw the Hinsdale people on the bridge. Surprised the family here. I guess they're not used to people coming back so early in the day. Dropped off the food and headed for Campo di Fiori. I wanted the purple pashmina I saw before. Ended up with a two-tone one from. India. It's pretty.

    I still had half an hour before my covid test window, so I sat down for some lunch. It was right off the Campo, so I didn't expect much. The 1/2 liter of wine was good. The salad was not. I think they did dress it and didn't give me oil and vinegar. Oh well... I watched the street theater of trucks, vans, limos, kids, tourists, etc. After I finished my wine it was time for...the covid test...

    It turns out I picked up the wrong form. So I filled out the correct one and paid my 15€ for the test. The doctor was exactly like the one in Milan. Older, and very nice. The test was uncomfortable and the results available in 10 minutes. I got a gelato while I waited. Negative--of course. I stopped at Carrefour on the way home for gifts.

    Now I'm resting on the balcony. Checked in for tomorrow's flights and have started packing. I think I can keep the luggage under 50 lbs.!
    Read more