Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Last night in Lecce

    March 6, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 54 °F

    After I dropped off the car, I walked back to the hotel. I relaxed a bit before heading out at 7:30ish. There were a few places I had seen, but it was Monday night, and many restaurants were closed.

    I ended up going to 00 for dinner (or Doppiozero), the same place where we had breakfast. It ended up being a bit more upscale than I thought it would be. I started with a Hugo Spritz, which was very good. I think it uses Sambuca. I ordered Spaghettone con Aglio e Tartuffi. It was really good, especially the truffle part. I decided on dessert, and a gentleman took me to the case to look at the choices and told me about each one. I chose the crostini al pignoli, which was a torte with pine nuts over a custard. It was his Nonna's recipe. Then he brought over 3 amaros to choose from. I picked the cinnamon/clove one. He was really interested in telling me about all of them--in Italian. Both of my choices were perfect!

    Before going home, I stopped at Quanto Basta, the cocktail bar from last night. I had a negroni, which came with taralli, olives, and chips. I saw Cynar behind the bar and ordered a Cynar spritz. Then it was time to go to bed!
    Read more