Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Leaving Lecce

    March 7, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 59 °F

    I slept until almost 9am today. I wasn't in a big rush. I booked my train for 11:15, and it's a 25 min walk. I put the cover on the bed and started pulling things out of the closet for packing. When I was reasonably organized, I took a break for breakfast.

    Breakfast was my normal cappuccino and a cornetto--this time with Nutella again. Back at the room, I finished packing by 10am and figured I'd just leave so that I could take my time walking.

    It took a while to walk, mostly because I didn't want to leave! It was a beautiful, sunny morning, and I enjoyed it thoroughly.

    I didn't have to wait long for my train. It arrived early since Lecce is the end of the line. For an extra 10€ l booked 1st class. Totally worth it. Not only did I get a single seat, but it was quiet, and they had "cabin service." I got a coffee and a cookie.

    The train stopped in Brindisi before arriving in Bari. The view out the windows was the sea on one side, mountains on the other, and olive groves on both sides. Beautiful!
    Read more