Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Cercando nel Castello

    November 22, 2023 in Italy ⋅ 🌙 54 °F

    The man at the hotel (Walter?) recommended I go to Castello tonight. I was a long walk from the hotel - in Venice terms, especially with my propensity to get lost! I had to put known landmarks in my phone since most of the places did not come up in maps. It took many wrong turns, but I found them!

    Bar Al Canton -- Spritz con Luxardo Bitter Bianco 3.50€
    Alla Scuola-- zucchini with tuna, stuffed cuttlefish, polenta topped with shrimp 15€
    Barcaro Risorto-- crostini with cod, limoncello spritz 10€
    Bacaro Magna Bevi Tasi-- "Spicy meat" crostini, Hugo Spritz 9.50€
    Harry's Bar-- Peach Spritz 22€!!!

    Okay the last one was a bellini...

    So, I had my one over-priced drink at Harry's Bar. It was a small place, with a bar that sat 8 or so people. The waiters were all in white jackets with black bow ties. Very snooty. At the bar I met a couple from England, who I closed the place down with. Alison and John were from SW England, but she has family in Atlanta. We talked politics, travel, and relationships. There was a lot of hugging.

    I arrived home around 11:30pm and fell into bed.
    Read more