Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Osteria Passatelli

    November 23, 2023 in Italy ⋅ 🌙 45 °F

    There were three restaurants that Aurelia recommended, and I picked Osteria Passatelli. It was a big place, and there was a band setting up on stage. Honestly, I was not in the mood for a band. Then I saw it was a cover band. Hmmm...

    The menu was quite extensive, and I was quite hungry. It took me a long time to pick something. I settled on a carafe of white wine, a mixed salad, and the roasted coniglio (bunny) with roasted potatoes. I spoke briefly with a woman at the next table, who was curious about the English speaker.

    The order of food here is salad after main meal--it always throws me. The rabbit was delicious--it almost tasted like turkey. It was Thanksgiving, after all! The salad was a mix of radicchio, bib lettuce, tomatoes, and shredded carrots. Mostly shredded carrots!

    The band didn't start until 10 pm, and it was after 9 pm. I was exhausted but started to think I could make a little bit of the show.

    The band started at about 9:45pm and it was fun. They had a lead singer who looked like Freddy Mercury, but the rest of the guys were just old musicians. It was interesting to listen to since they were Italian and sometimes I couldn't understand their English in the songs. As they continued to play, people started to dance a bit. I was singing along with the songs that I knew. At one point a younger woman pulled me up to dance. "Crazy Little Thing Called Love?" Anyway, I stayed the whole show !

    I got home around midnight and was too wound up to sleep!
    Read more