Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Milan Centro

    November 30, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 39 °F

    I missed Sarah this morning. She said that she tried to wake me up, but I did respond. I was wearing my Q45s, so I probably didn't hear her. Anyway, I woke up at 8:30 am and put my contacts in. Then I sat on the couch and chilled for a bit. Sarah had located an extra set of keys for me, so I was free to go out and explore.

    I started going through my suitcase, which sort of exploded everywhere. I decided to just wear the same thing as yesterday. Honestly, I am not sure if I ever want to wear this stuff again! I finally went to a pasticeria she recommended. It was crowded, and all I had was coffee. That was enough to wake me up a bit.

    I discovered my hotel doesn't have internet or a dinner restaurant. So going too early is not a great idea. Sarah lives right by a metro stop that goes directly to the duomo, so I decided to be a tourist for a bit.

    The train to the Duomo was fast...maybe 4 stops. I popped out right out in front of the Duomo. I headed for the Aperol bar for my 19€ spritz with some fancy snacks. It was cold and rainy, so the balcony was closed.

    I decided to check out our old coffee shop from 2021, next to La Scala. I walked through the Vittorio Emanuele shopping area, which is nicely decorated for Christmas. There were RAI news trailers parked in front, so no view of the Leonardo statue, but I stopped for a spritz anyway. It was cold outside, but it was probably my last spritz this trip!

    On my way to the metro, I saw someone selling roasted chestnuts and bought a small bag. I think I've had them before, but 'tis the season!

    The train back was uneventful, and I stopped at the small grocery to get some wine for tonight. I also got something that is called caprese salad, but looks like pudding. I packed up my bag and hauled it downstairs. There was a cab stand close, so I just walked there.

    I'm in the cab to train station.
    Read more