Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Lanquin

    January 11, 2017 in Guatemala ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Zephyr Lodge in Lanquin is a little paradise and the perfect place to get stuck for a few days. It's a little over my budget but the 4th night is for free - so it didn't make any sense to leave after just 3 nights :)
    It's just a 10 minute walk from the little town but as it's placed upon a mountain I was happy they pick you up. And the drive on the back of a pick up truck with a bunch of other backpackers was already an experience.
    The view from up here is ridiculously beautiful. And as the building is right on top of the mountain, you have a nice view everywhere. Even on the toilet and in the shower. I could even watch the sunrise from my bed, if I would wake up early enough (might do that tomorrow). But instead I saw the full moon rise from behind the mountain yesterday!
    As almost nobody wants to take the walk to town, everybody comes together at night for good food, cheap drinks and some funny games in the main restaurant.
    I spend the whole day yesterday at (and in) the pool. Today it's raining a little so I'm probably gonna spend the day in the main house making some travel plans - still with an amazing view :)
    Read more