Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Semuc Champey

    January 12, 2017 in Guatemala ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    From Lanquin I took a tour to Semuc Champey. It's a series of natural pools in a "bridge" from lime rock over the Rio Cahabón. Which means the actual river is running below the lime rock. Just some water runs over the rocks forming clear pools which are connected by little waterfalls.
    The tour actually started with a jump of a bridge just outside the parc. I knew if i start thinking about it, I might not do it. So I just climbed up on the railing and jumped. Free falling for 10 meters takes longer than I thought. I even had enough time to think about how best to touch the water. But not enough to actually change my position.
    Inside the park we first made our way up to a lookout point overlooking the pools. From there we climbed down to jump into one of the highest pools and then slide down the little waterfalls to the lowest one. I always thought it must hurt to slide down natural stone slides. And yes, it still does 2 days later. But it was still fun ;)
    To get to the park and back to the hostel later we took the pick up truck again. Why don't we do this at home? You can fit a lot more people in one car, if they are standing on the back of a truck.
    Read more