Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Copan Ruinas

    February 1, 2017 in Honduras ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    According to Lonely Planet Honduras is still known as the "Bad Boy" in the Central American hood. A lot of travelers skip it completely but I at least wanted to catch a glimpse of it.
    I was meeting a friend from Germany here who should join me for the next two weeks to travel El Salvador.
    I arrived in Copan on Tuesday and knew I was staying here for 4 nights as Sebastian would not arrive before Thursday and we wanted to visit the ruins together on Friday before heading to El Salvador on Saturday.
    I was really hoping Copan and the hostel I was staying would be nice. Otherwise it would have been a long stay there. But luckily I did like it a lot.
    I actually felt even more safe here than in Antigua walking the streets by night.
    People were really friendly and lots of the guys hanging around the Parque Central were wearing Cowboy Hats with Jeans and a proper Shirt - it made them look pretty dressed up to protect the city.
    I did go on a horseback ride around the area. It was really nice and as it was just me and my guide I could decide where to go and how fast - he even gave me his horse because it was faster :)
    We went to a small indigenous village and some smaller ruins. I the end we went to a fancy hotel which had amazing views over the area.
    I spend the rest of my days here exploring the little town and hanging out with some nice people from the hostel. There were a few nice places like "The tea and chocolate place" which sold homemade chocolates and other stuff. The hot chocolate was amazing!
    Thursday Sebastian showed up and Friday afternoon Sandy (who I had met before in San Ignacio, Belize and Livingston, Guatemala) joined us to travel to El Salvador together.
    Read more