Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 64

    Rapture Surf Camp

    March 1, 2017 in Nicaragua ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    After my first try of getting back into surfing in El Tunco felt like I've never done this before I figured I should probably look for a place to start over again.
    I had been to other Surf Camps before in Bali & Sri Lanka and I always love the vibe. Usually everybody is in the same mood and just wants to surf and and chill out with nice people. This place was the same. When I walked in they all introduced themselves and immediately started talking to me. 80% of the people were blond, german speaking girls so I fit in perfectly 😅

    The first girl I met was Kim from Switzerland. As she told me she had just arrived the night before on a flight from London I assumed she was British and we had been talking for quite a while till someone walked by saying "You do know that you both speak german?". Kim saved me in the end by selling me her neopren swimsuit. Hard to believe but the water around Playa Maderas was freezing cold what always shortened the surf sessions quite a lot. I spend a lot of time with Kim but usually we would always be hanging out at the camp all together anyway. That's what made it such a nice experience. Even though people would leave and new people would show up it always felt like one happy surf family.
    Except maybe for one person that just didn't really fit in. She just seemed to live in another atmosphere. Someone assumed she might have fallen in a pot of acid when she was a kid. But she was a fun person and she always gave us something to laugh about. Also she was the inspiration for our group picture in the pool.

    But most importantly: the surf!
    After my first surf lesson I was pretty upset. Deny and Alvaro had just ignored me telling them that I wanna start easy and stay in the white water. They made me paddle out with everybody else and I was just completely overwhelmed. But in the end their approach was right. It took me two days but then I got the hang of it again. And on monday morning after a day without surfing but partying instead at SUNDAY FUNDAY I suddenly knew how to surf again. As a lot of people had left and the new ones weren't taking lessons I had private lessons with Alvaro for the next 3 days. It was perfect. On my last day I was able to catch my own green waves, stand up and surf them without looking like an idiot. I felt ready to surf by myself now!
    Read more